February 2014: Getting a new rhythm - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu February 2014: Getting a new rhythm - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

February 2014: Getting a new rhythm

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

02 Maart 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Saturday friends of Erik came to visit Florian with their two sons. Florian liked being cuddled by them.

Sunday morning we went to my father’s birthday party. My youngest sister was there too with her family. Everyone wanted to held Florian and it was quite busy for him. So after lunch we went home again.

Monday a friend of mine came to visit us with her 3,5 year old daughter. We went for a walk at the beach. It was really nice weather and the sun was shining. Florian really loves the fresh air. When we go outside you see him inhaling the fresh air by pulling up his nose. After the walk we had lunch together at home and her daughter made nice drawings. In the evening friends of us came to visit us. They live in the USA, so it was quit special to see them again. This night was the first time that Florian had 8 hours between being fed.

Tuesday Erik had to go to Munich for work. I went to my youngest sister. At her place we and her two youngest children walked a while and went to the supermarket. Florian was sleeping in the maxi cosi. During lunch I fed Florian and my niece thought that that was very interesting and came to sit with me. In the afternoon my oldest nephew went to school and his sister to a playgroup. We stayed at home and took a nap with the youngest two boys. The following night was the first time I was alone at night with Florian, but everything went well.

Wednesday two friends of mine with their daughters came to visit me for a coffee and lunch. In the afternoon my mother came and we had dinner together. Then I went to the pub with some friends of mine. This was the first time we had a babysitter and the first time I really did something for myself without Florian since his birth. After I had seen that my mother could soothe him, I felt relaxed to go. Then we went to the market together by bus and walked back. In the evening Erik came home and cuddled a lot with Florian, who he missed a lot during the last two days.

Friday morning Florian popped again a lot and therefore I bathed him. Then we went together to the supermarket by car. A lot of people wanted to see him there, asked how old he was and said he was sweet. In the afternoon we slept together for a while.

Sunday Erik’s mom had her birthday and we went to visit her. It was the first time that we took Florian with us to them. They were very happy to see their second grandson. After feeding Florian I gave him to his grandpa, who really enjoyed it. His first grandson (1,5 years old) who was also there to visit them, did not like it that his grandpa gave attention to someone else and kept asking for attention! He was used to get all attention of his grandpa! During dinner Florian fell asleep, so we decided to immediately go home as long as he was sleeping.

Monday I had a reunion of all new moms and their new borns from my pregnancy course in Bagels and Beans. It was very nice to see them all again and hear their stories .Then we had lunch together with a few moms and decided to make pictures from the babies for the passports and identity cards. Florian looked like a burglar on it!

Tuesday I went to my youngest sister. We went for a walk with three of the kids and got some groceries. My nieces really enjoys her walk bike, which is fanny to see. After lunch we took a nap. My sister with her son (10 months old) and I with Florian. The we drove home. Erik went squashing in the evening with his friends.

Last month Florian had a photo shoot, which was really funny. He went along and did not cry for a second! On Wednesday I went to pick up the pictures. I thought it would be quite simple to make a choice, but it took me much longer then expected. He was so cute on the pictures!

Thursday Florian an I went to the local market by bus and walked back home. In the afternoon we took a nap.

Friday Florian and I got up early to drive to my mother. It was the first time for Florian that he visited my mother. In the beginning Florian was crying in the car at every traffic light and when I drove away he stopped again. After a few times he finally fell asleep. I wanted to be at my mother’s place at the same time as my brother and his two youngest kids. We arrived only one minute earlier than my brother. My brother was not expecting me. He goes every week to my mother on Friday and drops off the kids and the goes alone or with one of the kids to the supermarket to buy his groceries. After some tea and fruit my brother, his son and I went to buy some groceries. Florian stayed for the first with my mom and her husband at their place. After an hour we were back and the first thing I heard was Florian crying….

Saturday morning I went to the swimming pool. My condition was not very well yet. After half an hour a was exhausted and went home again. In the afternoon two neighbors came to visit Florian. They thought he was really hansom!

Sunday we went with the three of us for a walk at the beach. On our way home we made a stop at a terrace not far away from our home to sit in the sun as long as Florian was asleep.

On Monday I went to the maternity center with Florian to get his first vaccinations. He cried a bit but was quite quick his happy self again. Then we went to the municipality to apply for a Identity card for Florian. In the evening Florian got a bit of a fever.

Tuesday his fever luckily disappeared and Florian and I went to visit my sister. The kids had vacation this week. With the four children and a friend of the oldest one and her father we went to the butterfly garden in Leidschendam. There they had these huge butterflies flying around you in a greenhouse. There were also some ducks, fishes birds and turtles. After an hour the kids had seen everything and we drove to Zoeterwoude, where we visited a children’s farm “‘t Geertje”. There the kids could feed the goats and feed the lams with bottles of milk. Of course there were also cows, chickens, ponies and pigs to see, ride and touch. The youngest two kids where lying in their carry cots and the oldest three enjoyed themselves very much! In the evening my after pregnancy course started and we did some exercises to get in shape again. Erik watched out for Florian at home.

Wednesday one of the mothers of the course came to me with her daughter and we walked at the beach for a while. Both the babies were sleeping in their carry cot. In the evening Erik went out for dinner with a friend of him in the harbor.

Thursday Florian an I went to the local market by bus and walked back home in the rain. Florian was lying dry in his carry cot…

Friday a colleague of mine came to visit me and Florian. It was nice sunny weather, so we decided to make a walk to the beach and enjoy the weather.

Saturday went swimming again. Erik watched out for Florian. At the end of the afternoon we went for a walk with the three of us.

Sunday the oldest daughter of my brother (five years old) celebrated her birthday. The whole family was there so it was loud and there were a lot of children there.

Tuesday Florian and I went for our weekly visit to my youngest sister. Her youngest son really likes Florian’s buggy and climbed in the luggage part!

Wednesday I went to visit one of the mothers of my course. After lunch we went with the four of us for a walk to the beach. This time we walked through the dunes for a while before getting to the beach. It was nice and sunny. We sat down there in the wind and then headed back home again. In the evening Erik went squashing with some friends.

Cheers,

Marja and Erik

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 395
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96438

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: