March 2014: Many first times! - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu March 2014: Many first times! - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

March 2014: Many first times!

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

06 April 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Saturday morning Florian and I went bathing at home. He really enjoyed it and splashed the water around with his legs! Afterwards Erik went for a walk with Florian at the beach and I enjoyed my bit of shopping time in the city of The Hague. In the afternoon my mother and her husband came to visit us with his grandson of 2,5 years old. It was nice to see him again, because the last time was about two years ago!

Tuesday I went again to the after pregnancy course, but I was quite tired and was coughing a lot. So Wednesday I stayed at home with Florian and we slept a lot.

Thursday I went out with a former German colleague of mine. We went to an Italian restaurant in the neighborhood. She really loves Italy and Italian food. The food was very good and reminded me of the Italian restaurants in Munich. I really enjoyed being a night away without Florian. Erik stayed at home with him.

Friday morning Florian and I went to my mother. After drinking coffee, my brother and I went to do the groceries. His two kids and Florian stayed with my mom. When I came back Florian was sleeping in his own chair. Friday evening Erik went to his “Jaareten” with his friends from his student union in Amsterdam. They went to café “De Vijzel” and had dinner in Restaurant “Senses” where they had good food and enjoyed each other’s company.

Saturday was a really sunny day and the beach restaurant season started in Scheveningen. So we walked to the beach with Florian and enjoyed the really nice weather, the lovely beach and the restaurant.

Sunday we went to visit Erik’s brother and his family in Amsterdam. We sat in the back garden in the sun. In the afternoon we went for a walk in the Vondelpark. The most famous park of Amsterdam and we were not the only one with this idea…

Monday morning a friend of mine and I decided to go for a coffee to the beach. The sun was already shining. We enjoyed our coffee at one of the beach restaurants. Florian was asleep and her 3,5 year old daughter was playing in the sand. Can it get better? Of course it did not stay like this and Florian got hungry and did not want to sleep anymore… so we went for a walk.

Tuesday Florian and I went to my sister. I wanted to make some juice with her juicer, but something got stuck in the machine and the red beetroot juice splashed around in het kitchen!! On the walls, the floors, the radiator, etc. Luckily my sister responded quit nice! It took us an hour to clean up the mess and of course the walls were not white anymore…Her youngest son and Florian were asleep the whole time, else we would have even had a bigger problem! In the afternoon I watched out for my nephew in the garden, while my sister went to pick up her other two children.

Wednesday I went to visit one of my friends of the pregnancy course. We walked with our children to a park and picnicked there together in the sun. Some old people came by and really enjoyed looking at our two babies. Afterward we walked to our Baby massage course. During the course Florian was restless and cried a bit. Luckily he was not the only one. After the massage the children were fed and Florian could not wait. So he made noises that he wanted to drink and snapped at my breast, which made everyone laugh!

Friday Florian and I had our first “real” conversation: he made noises and I tried to imitate them. He really liked it a lot an laughed a lot. He even had his first burst of laughter!

Saturday afternoon we drove to Erik’s parents. For the first time we stayed for the night with the three of us. After bringing Florian to bed at 7:00 pm, Erik and I went to a birthday party in Amsterdam. This was also the first time after Florian was born, that we went out together and that Erik’s parents watched out for Florian. So another big step taken in being parents! It was really nice to go out together again and being more than a mom. When we came home at 1:00 am Florian was still asleep and had not made a sound till then. So Erik’s parents did not dare to wake Florian up for his bottle of milk during this period. So he woke up when we got home and was very hungry! Florian’s grandmother then gave him his bottle of milk, which she really liked. It was the first time for her with Florian. During the night Florian was still quite hungry, so I did not sleep a lot…

Sunday morning we tried to let Florian sleep as long as possible. After breakfast at 10:00 am Erik and his father went for a walk with Florian. During lunch he did not want to lay in his cot and cried a lot. So I put him on my lap. He needed to make a burp and was quite satisfied to sit with us at the table He smiled to his grandparents for the first time with his dimpled cheeks. His grandparents adored him!

Monday our neighbors came to visit Florian for the first time. They always want to have a look at him when I see them in the entrance hall. We chatted for 2 hours or so, which was really nice.

Tuesday we went to the maternity center and Florian got his second vaccination. The maternity center is close to the international part of The Hague, where next week the Nuclear Security Summit is held. This is the biggest conference ever held in the Netherlands. On this conference all world leaders come to the Hague. The implementation of the safety measures already started last week. This week you could see the flags of all participating countries on the highway. A lot of traffic signs are hung up everywhere. Fences are put everywhere where the world leaders will be. Highways will be completely sealed off and under camera supervision. The conference will be held about 1 km from our house.
In the afternoon I went to my friends from my pregnancy course, where we drank tea and chatted. In the evening we went again to our after pregnancy training.

Wednesday morning I went to vote for Eric and I for the municipalities. Voting is quite simple in the Netherlands: you get one big paper with all eligible people on it and you are allowed to only color one circle of one person red. In the afternoon I went again to the baby massage course. This time Florian enjoyed it more than last time.

Thursday Florian and I went to the local market. When we came home Florian was asleep and I went for a coffee at the neighbors.
Friday morning I went to visit my mother together with Florian. Florian was a bit hungry so he whined and sobbed whole the way to my mother except for the last five minutes. Then he fell asleep… After drinking coffee my brother and I went shopping to get our groceries. Our kids stayed at the grandparents. Afterwards I had lunch with my mom.

Sunday morning we went with the three of us for a walk at the boulevard. After 45 minutes Florian woke up hungry. We went to one of the beach restaurants, so I could feed him. We also had lunch there ourselves. Then we walked back home. You could really notice that the world leaders would come today for the Nuclear Security Summit: there were a lot of police officers on the boulevard, fences were placed around the Kurhaus Hotel, a frigate and the coastguard were patrolling on the sea, a police helicopter was circling above the international center, a lot of police car drove by with sirens, etc.

Monday and Tuesday Erik stayed at home, because of the Nuclear Security Summit. The way to his office was sealed off, so he worked at home. The whole day two police helicopters were circling in the air, what was quite annoying. During the day some police motors with important people came through our street and off course ambulances and police cars. I went to the beach and there was frigate navigating for the coast. On the boulevard were also a lot of cops ( by foot, on motors, bikes, scooter etc.). At the hotel were fences and it was very quiet, because all people kept away from this area!

Wednesday everything was normal again and I went to the baby massage course with Florian. He is enjoying it more every week.
Thursday I had to change the tires of our car at the BMW garage, so I drove there. During my ride Erik called me that my boss was at his office and it would be nice if I could visit her with Florian after I went to the garage. So I went to Erik’s work with Florian. I met Erik and two of his colleagues already outside the building. His colleagues brought me a sandwich, which was very nice! They enjoyed seeing Florian. We went in with the buggy and I met his other colleagues. Then I spoke to my boss for an hour. All the time Florian was asleep! What a sweetie!

Friday was the first time that I could take a pictures from part of Florian’s sweet smile. Every time we get the camera, he is not smiling anymore…

Saturday some friends of Erik with their two children came by to visit Florian. After drinking coffee at our place we went together to the beach. We had lunch, the sun was shining, the children were playing in the sand and Florian was asleep in his carry cot. So it was a very nice afternoon! Roundabout 3:00 pm we had to go home, because in the evening my sister and I had dinner plans in a restaurant in Katwijk! Our men were together babysitting the four children! We had a nice dinner and enjoyed our evening without children! What a blessing!

Wednesday was my final baby massage course. After the massage we put all baby’s in tummy tubs and bucket with a bit of water in it, which was very funny. Florian could not decide if he liked it or not. He whimpered a bit, but not much, which was very cute!

Thursday I went to one of the girls of the pregnancy course and we chatted a bit while babysitting our children.

Friday my sister in law and her son came by to see us. My nephew is a bit jealous of Florian, because before he was the only grandchild in Erik’s family and now he has to share attention with Florian! After lunch they went home again.

Saturday was daddy day. Erik baby sitted Florian the whole day and I went shopping in the city and later on I went inline skating on the boulevard.

Cheers,

Marja, Erik & Florian

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 352
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96437

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: