May 2014: our first vacation as a family! - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu May 2014: our first vacation as a family! - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

May 2014: our first vacation as a family!

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

07 Juni 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Monday the weather was very nice, so I decided to make a walk at the beach with Florian. When we got home he played on our balcony in his baby gym.

Tuesday I had my weekly day with the mommies. In the afternoon we went for a walk with our four buggies and five children. That‘s not that easy on the streets in the Netherlands... We tried to walk two by two, but everywhere there are bicycles parked and you cannot walk by with two buggies. We walked to a playing ground for the oldest child of 1,5 year old. She liked it very much. She was very interested in other children’s step, bicycles, etc. So her mommy ran after her to keep het away from other peoples stuff. On our way back we decided to go to the supermarket…I must say it went very well with four buggies!

Wednesday morning Florian and I went to the supermarket for my groceries. After the shopping we had coffee with our neighbors and the neighbors gave Florian a bottle. When we were in our apartment again Florian fell asleep in the buggy so I had my hands free for some time. In the afternoon we went to the beach. It was sunny and there was a strong wind, which Florian did not like in his buggy. Then I picked him up from the buggy and we sat for a while together in the wind. That was curiously all right for him. Maybe this is just another phase that he wants to hang out with his mother all the time…In the evening I went swimming and Erik gave Florian his bottle and brought him to bed. This was the first time Florian did not get (partly) breast feeding before going to bed and everything went well. I am now reducing the breast feeding.

Thursday we went to my sister and then we drove with four children to Avifauna in Alphen aan de Rijn. This is a bird zoo. My niece (3,5 years old) insisted to drive with me. So Florian was asleep in the car and my niece was telling stories and singing, which was quite funny. She felt quite at home! In the zoo were very big birds and the eldest two children thought it was all very exciting and sometimes a bit scary. Especially the big birds who walked free in the park. So I had to pick up my niece and carry her! Later on it started raining and we decided to drive home. When we arrived home all three boys were asleep!

Saturday I finally went to the hairdresser to dye my hair a bit. It was such a long time ago and I really enjoyed it!

Sunday was my first mother’s day that I was a mom too! Erik bought me a big bouquet of roses, which was very nice. In the morning we had a nice breakfast together, which Erik prepared.

Tuesday at 10:00 a.m. I drove to my weekly appointment with the mommies. When I was almost there I remembered that it was this week in the afternoon, so I decided to visit my dad, because we were already packed and underway. My father gave Florian for the first time his bottle, which went very well. Later on we had lunch. During lunch Florian fell asleep in his buggy. In the afternoon my stepmother and I went for a walk with Florian in his buggy. It was nice and sunny weather. Florian started crying during our walk, because he was tired. We could not think of anything else than to sing a famous Dutch lullaby “Sleep little child” during our walk. I thought this was quit hilarious. There was almost no one on the street and we were singing this song over and over again till I burst into laughing and could not stop for a while: who imagined last year that I would do this, this year?

Wednesday I started packing our stuff for our week vacation on the Island Texel in the Netherlands. In the evening I went for a swim in the local swimming pool.

Friday our vacation started. We drove to the North of Holland and first visited Erik’s parents. After lunch we drove along to Den Helder, where we took the ferry to the island Texel (Florian’s first boat trip). Texel is about 20 by 8 km and around 13.500 people live there. We stayed at a bungalow park Sluftervalley. This park is surrounded by dunes and borders the nature reserve “De Slufter”. We had a great view on a small lake with gees and pheasants. The last ones also walked free around the bungalow sometimes even with their little ones. Erik’s brother visited this park before with his family and they had exactly the same bungalow!

Saturday and Sunday we decided to stay at the bungalow. Florian was playing in his pen outside in the shadow. We enjoyed the sun. In the evening we grilled in the bungalow.

Monday morning we went swimming with Florian for the first time in a swimming pool. It was a nice pool and he had an inflatable band round his waist. He liked it very much. At the end of the afternoon we walked to the beach and had a drink on the terrace of a restaurant.

Tuesday we walked 4 km through the dunes to De Slufter. De Slufter is a nature park where the sea still influences the nature and where a lot of bird bread. The dunes are there sort of opened. At De Slufter we had lunch in a small restaurant and then we walked back.

Wednesday we drove around the island by car to have an idea what the island was like. Florian fell asleep in the car.

Thursday it was raining a bit, so we decided to drive to a small village “De Koog”. We made a walk and then had lunch there.

Friday we drove home again. We were quite early at the ferry (8:40) so it was not so busy. We visited Erik parents on our way back and had lunch with them.

Thursday was a holiday and Erik’s brother and his family came to visit us. We stayed at home, chatted a lot and had some tapas.

Friday we went with my sisters family to Madurodam in The Hague. In this park the Netherlands is built in miniatures. So you could see all kind of famous buildings from Amsterdam, The Hague and other cities, but also parts of the Delta Works (dams who keep Holland save from the sea), royal palaces, Amsterdam Airport, etc. After our visit we baked pancakes at our place, which the children liked very much. Then it was time to go home and go to bed.

Saturday I went to the beach to test our new beach tent for Florian. It worked very well! Later I also went to one of the beach restaurant and had lunch there. The sun started burning very strong, so it was time to go home to Erik and Florian.

Sunday we sat in the garden with Florian. This was the first time Florian could test his tent and he really liked it!

Tuesday I went to my weekly appointment with the moms. This time we were only with the two of us, but that was nice too: a bit more relaxed!

Wednesday my mom came to babysit Florian and I went to the sauna. This was very nice, some time for me! This was the first time since Florian was born that I had not seen him in 7 hours!

Thursday I went to the local market again. The weather was all right so we went walking to it. Only during our walk it starting raining…later on it was luckily dry again and I got my groceries.

Friday evening I went for dinner with the mommies, off course without our babies! I went per bike (yes, that is the easiest way) and drove by the Plein. On this public square are a lot of terraces. I used to go there a lot before we went to Munich. It was nice to see it again in the summer, such a nice atmosphere! We went to a Libyan restaurant “Amier” which is just around the corner of the Plein. It was the first time I ate Libyan food and it tasted good! We chatted and enjoyed it a lot!

Cheers,
Marja, Erik & Florian

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 340
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96441

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: