July 2014: Summer has started - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu July 2014: Summer has started - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

July 2014: Summer has started

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

29 Juli 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Monday my sister in law (from my brother) came to visit me with her youngest two children. We chatted, had lunch and then she drove home again to pick the oldest one up from school.

Tuesday at the beginning of the evening we drove to Amsterdam, to Erik’s brother. His brother and my sister in law celebrated their birthday with the family. The weather was nice so we could enjoy it in the garden. We had dinner and chatted a lot. Florian slept for a short time and then we drove home.

Friday Erik flew to Budapest with his friends. They made a tourist tour through the city. In the evening watched the soccer game of Germany.

Saturday Erik and his friends made boat trip on the Donau and went swimming on an island in the Donau. In the evening they watched the soccer game of the Netherlands against Costa Rica, which the Netherlands won with penalties. I went to my sister, where we relaxed and sat in the garden.

Sunday Erik and his friends had breakfast and the flew home again.

Monday I went shopping with Florian in the city center. I needed some new sporting shoes and found them quite quickly, so I decided to visit a friend of mine who lives in the city center and I promised to go see his new apartment. It was very nice to see him again.

Thursday I went to BMW Den Haag to get some small repairs fixed on our car. I got a replacement car which was very nice. A BMW 3-series Touring with a lot of options on it. It was nice to see and drive in the new one, because in Munich we drove the old 3 touring. A lot has changed and it was nice to drive a diesel again, because I like them the most.

Friday afternoon the car was ready, washed and vacuum cleaned. So Erik was also very happy, because he normally does that! Friday evening I meet with a friend in the city of the Hague. We sat of one of the most famous terraces of the Hague ”het Plein”. I always liked this very much. I went there a lot of times with colleagues when I still worked in the Netherlands and also before in my student time. We chatted a lot, had fun and laughed all evening long!

Saturday morning we drove to my mom to drop Florian at her place, so Erik and I could spend the whole day together and celebrate our five years of marriage. After lunch at our place we went for a bike tour to Wassenaar through the dunes. We thought this would be very easy because we did it eight years ago. But the route was not really clear and we hit the wrong roads a couple of time. Still we had a nice tour in the dunes with sunny weather. At the end of the tour we went to the beach and had a drink there. In the evening we had a four course dinner at restaurant “Spijs” in Scheveningen, which was very nice and with really good food. We enjoyed it! Afterwards we picked Florian up at my mom.

Sunday my oldest nephew was celebrating his 7th birthday. The whole family was there and some friends, so it was again one big loud chaos, but fun.

Monday my mom came to babysit Florian. It was nice to do some shopping alone and arrange some things. At the end of the afternoon I went for a coffee to the beach. It was very windy and cloudy but also refreshing.

Tuesday we meet the other mommies and babies again. I am surprised that we still do this almost every week. Both other mommies are working part-time now. It’s fun and also very useful for getting ideas how to handle Florian.

Wednesday was a very warm day. So I decided to go for a walk with Florian, but this time not to the beach but to a small city forest. It was very nice and beautiful. I have not been around there a lot and it surprised me how big it was (for a city forest I mean).

Thursday evening we went for a short visit to my brother.

Saturday one of Erik’s squash friends celebrated his birthday and organized a grill party. Erik’s parents came to babysit Florian, so we could relax and enjoy the party! It was very hot day and later on it started to rain a bit, which was very nice because it cooled down a bit. It was a very nice party. Florian slept when we came home and enjoyed the visit of his grandparents.

Tuesday I went to one of the mommies for our weekly appointment. It was very hot, especially in her apartment (28,5 degrees), so we decided to walk to the children’s farm. Her oldest daughter (1,5 years old) liked it very much and played in the playground with sand and water and was very dirty from the sand! Florian fell asleep in the buggy.

Wednesday was again a very hot day, so I decided to make a small “swimming” pool for Florian on the balcony. He could sit very easily in the small pool and enjoyed himself very much. Thursday I repeated this for him.

Friday Florian and I went visiting my father and his wife. We sat in the garden and played with Florian. Florian wanted to be the whole with his mother, which was exhausting. Luckily he fell asleep two times during the visit!

Saturday morning we again drove to my mom to drop Florian off. Erik and I went to the beach and lay there in the sun. After a while the sun disappeared behind the cloud, so we decided to have lunch at the restaurant on the beach. Then we walked to the Westbroekpark and hired a boat. This is something we wanted to do for years! We always drove bay and simply loved it! So we peddled for an hour through the surroundings, which were very nice if you consider that we were within the city of The Hague. You got the feeling you where somewhere outside the city. Very nice and relaxing! Then we walked home an made us ready to go to an Italian restaurant in the neighborhood. There we enjoyed our food and later on we drove to my mom again to pick Florian up.

Monday evening I brought Florian to bed and then walked to the beach. It was nice and quiet. I had a tea and enjoyed the beach while reading a book!

Cheers,
Marja, Erik and Florian

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 388
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96435

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: