January 2014: the first month as parents - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu January 2014: the first month as parents - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

January 2014: the first month as parents

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

07 Februari 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

On new year’s day Florian had gotten a cold and did not sound very well. We were a bit worried, because he was only 2 weeks old and his immune system did not work very well yet. During the night we put his cot in our bedroom just to be sure…

Wednesday my aunt came to visit us. She crocheted an old fashion birth pattern with Florian’s name, birthday, time, weight and length, which was really nice.

Friday we went for the first time to the maternity center for Florian’s hearing test, which is done with each baby of 2 weeks old. We also weighted him again and he was almost back on his birth weight. In the afternoon a friend of mine came to visit Florian and later on our retired neighbors could not wait to see him either! Our neighbor crocheted a pattern of two elephant on a bib. Furthermore they brought us an drink “Kandeel”, which is drunken by the birth of a child traditionally. Florian is the first child in our apartment complex since it was built so all our neighbors are excited about his birth!

Sunday we went for a walk with Florian in the buggy. We went to the harbor and wanted to drink and eat something on the terrace. During our first drink Florian already started whining. So we decided to walk to the beach and then go home. On the beach we wanted to get some fish and chips. After we got them he cried very loud and did not want to stop anymore. So we walked home.

Monday Erik started working again. His three weeks leave were over so this was my first day alone with Florian. This was exact the day that Florian changed his drinking rhythm and he wanted to get milk every hour the whole day long. So it was a hard day for me.

Tuesday Florian and I went to the hospital for a checkup for me. It was the first time I drove a car since he was born. It felt very good to be outside again. Florian slept almost the whole time in the hospital and only started crying when we were almost home again. In the evening he did not want to sleep. After Erik came home from playing squash, he cuddled him and after a while Florian finally slept.

Wednesday a friend of mine from my pregnancy course came to visit with her daughter, who is four days older than Florian. We had tea and chatted, which was really nice. Afterwards I went shopping for the first time with Florian. Outside the stores he was quiet and slept and then I went through the door of a shop and he started crying. When I left the store and we were outside he stopped again. At the second store he did the same! Then luckily he stopped during my visits of the next shops.

Thursday my mother visited us and we went to the market with the three of us. It rained but it was nice being outside with the three of us. Then we drove to the beach and had a look at the high waves, the surfers and the wind which was blowing the sand away.

Friday was a quiet day. Florian and I did some shopping. At the end of the afternoon one of our neighbors came by to visit Florian, which was very nice.

Saturday Eriks parents came to visit us. His father did some repairing in our house and his mother could not stop cuddling Florian, who did not have a problem with that!

Sunday we went again for a walk to the beach, but this time too Florian did not like the beach and started crying. So we went home again. Florian was not feeling very well: he had colic’s and had not pooped for 2 days and the days before he had 6 diapers a day. At the end of the afternoon Erik went changing his diapers. His diapers and part of his clothes were full of poop! So Erik went for a shower with him! Afterwards we had a happy baby again!

Monday my mother came to visit us. When she came in Florian was already in his carry cot and we went outside to do some shopping. Yes, I do a lot of shopping these days, but it is good to be outside and I have a goal for going outside! Afterwards Florian slept very well and my mum and I had a relaxed lunch. Then I went for a nap and my mother watched out for Florian. My mother really likes that! She is already talking about Florian staying for the night at her place!

Tuesday Florian had again problems with colic’s and cried a lot. He again had not pooped for two days and his legs were stamping a lot.

On Wednesday Florian was already 1 month old. I went with two girls of my pregnancy course to “Bagel & Beans” for a coffee. They both had brought their daughter which are off course about the same age as Florian. Florian was very quiet. He likes to be around people and does not have a problem with loud music. In the afternoon Florian and I cuddled. He had again problems with colic’s. Afterwards I changed his diaper and it was full of poop! But this time his clothes survived quite well!

Sunday I went for a walk with Florian. I went to the beach with him and surprisingly this time he kept sleeping and we walked quit a distance on the boulevard. When we stopped for the door at home, Florian started crying. So for Erik it looked like he cried like usually on the beach…

Monday I went to the hospital for a last check up for me. Till now Florian slept every time that we were in the hospital for an appointment. This time he started crying 5 minutes before the appointment and during half of the appointment with the doctor. The good thing was that the doctor had a trainee with her. So she tried to calm Florian so I could talk to the doctor! In the afternoon we went for the second time to the maternity center. Florian weighted now 5.195 gram and was 56 cm. The doctor had a look at him and tested his muscles in his neck by laying him on his tummy and putting his arms underneath his head and upper body. Florian looked around if he had never done anything else! So the doctor was surprised and very satisfied.

Tuesday morning Florian and I went for a coffee to our retired neighbors. I took Florian with me in his chair, where he could lay down. Quite quickly Florian started to cry, but the neighbors did not mind at all. They were completely excited to have such a young and sweet baby in their house. They adored him and could not stop staring at him!

Wednesday I went to visit one of the girls from the pregnancy course. Florian and I went for the first time with the tram. The other people were very friendly and helped me to get the carry cot in the tram. Florian slept all the time at my friend’s house. The other two babies were not so quiet. In the evening Erik noticed that our buggy had a flat tire and could not get it pumped up again…

Thursday morning I went to the bicycle repair men to get the tire fixed. I could not take the carry cot so I took Florian in a baby carrier with me for the first time. Luckily the bicycle repair men could fix tire immediately, so I could still do some shopping with the buggy later that day. In the afternoon Florian for the first time rolled on his side himself!

Friday my eldest sister came to visit me. We chatted a lot and went for a walk at the beach with Florian.

Saturday I went with Florian for another walk at the boulevard. In the afternoon, shortly before a friend of Erik came, Florian pooped a lot and we had to give him a bath. Shortly after that a friend of Erik came and we had some coffee. Then Erik and his friend went to Amsterdam. Erik had a yearly reunion to which he had not been for seven years. So it was very nice to see all those people again.

Sunday I went with Florian for a walk at the boulevard. In the afternoon Erik’s brother and his family came to visit us. We chatted a lot and grilled together. Erik’s nephew played with some of Florian’s toys.

Monday Florian changed his drinking rhythm again and he wanted to get milk every hour the whole day long. So it was again a hard day for me.

Tuesday Florian and I went to visit my youngest sister and her family. This was the first time that I drove my car with Florian for half an hour. My nieces and two nephews were also there (a part of the day). With three children my sister of course has much more experience with children so she learned me some tricks and soothed Florian and changed his diaper very fast. My youngest nephew (10 months) was standing for the first time at his play pen. (Probably to say to Florian to get out of his play pen! He also pulled some toys out of the play pen, where Florian was laying). Later on I picked up my youngest nephew, who was completely wet. He pooped a lot and my sister managed to change his diaper and clothes and wash him within five minutes! She had to, because the eldest one had to go to school.

Wednesday I went to visit one of the girls of the pregnancy course. Florian again was such a sweet and quiet baby. He slept most of the time. My friend had also got a scale, so we weighted Florian. He was now with 6,5 weeks 5.660 gram. So he is growing well.

Thursday Florian had his first photo-shoot at the supermarket. He stayed calm and did all poses. So I hope we get nice pictures from him! The photographer said he was a hansom boy and did very well! Afterwards we went to the market with the bus. This was our first ride with the bus and it was easier than the tram, because I do not need people to help me to get the carry cot into the bus. After I did some groceries we walked back home and Florian was sleeping most of the time. He really likes the fresh air.

Cheers,
Marja & Erik

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 325
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96446

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: