August 2014: a busy month - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu August 2014: a busy month - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

August 2014: a busy month

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

28 Augustus 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Wednesday I visited my brother, who was on holidays with his family on their boat. I drove to Vinkeveen, where my brother picked me up and we went to the island, where his family was. Later on my mother and her husband also joined the club. We sat in the sun, enjoyed the weather, picnicked and chatted. Florian was playing on the ground and slept a bit in his cousins bed on the island.

Friday morning I prepared myself to go away for a long weekend to Munich, to visit a friend of mine for a girls weekend! After giving birth to Florian, this weekend was the first time that I would not be with Florian overnight and immediately four nights! So Friday morning I packed and drove Florian to my parents in law. He would stay there till Tuesday and then I would pick him up again. Erik would also stay at his parents during this period and would only leave to go to work. We had lunch together so that he could get a bit used to his grandparents. After lunch I left (a bit sad for leaving Florian) to go to the airport by train. It was very quiet at the airport, so I was immediately through the security and had time left to do some shopping. At 16:55 I landed in Munich and my friend picked me up from the airport and we drove together to her home. Everything was still the same like I never left Munich. We had a Bavarian Brotzeit on the terrace and chatted a lot. Then we drove to my hotel (300 m away) to drop off my luggage. Then we chatted for a while at her home and then we walked to the hotel to get some sleep.

Saturday my friend and I woke up very early to go to the flea market in Munich. We drove away at 5:30! I bought some German children books for Florian and a new leader wallet for myself. Then we drove home again and had weisswurst und brezn for our second breakfast on the terrace in the garden. In the afternoon we enjoyed the sun laying in the garden. In the evening we and her daughter (1,5 year old) drove around a little lake in the neighborhood by bike.

In the Netherlands Erik and his dad went for a walk with Florian and later on they enjoyed the weather in the garden. Florian ate well and had a new cuddly friend (Nijntje)!

Sunday morning my friend and I made a small walk in the surroundings. Then my friend, her husband, their daughter and I had lunch in biergarten Weihenstephan in Freising. Very nice to sit in a biergarten again, very cozy! Then we went for a walk through the forest, where there were all kind of activities for children. The weather was nice, the forest beautiful and we had some nice chit chats. Afterwards we went for a big ice-cream in Freising.

In the Netherlands Florian slept well during the night and was a very happy boy. Erik and dad went for a bike tour through the dunes and near by the beach and grandma was watching Florian.

Monday we dropped her daughter off with her grandparents and we drove to Thermen Erding. The biggest sauna of Europe. We thought we would stay for about 5 hours or something, but we really enjoyed it and stayed there from 10:30 till 22:00! We took some sauna’s, all kinds of (facial) masks, thermal baths, etc. and came out as reborn!
In the Netherlands Erik went to work and grandma and grandpa were babysitting Florian.

Tuesday it was time to go home again and my friend brought me back to the airport. This time it was very busy, so it was good that I was early. The flight was all right and after landing at Schiphol I took the train back to my parents in law. There was Florian again! Completely happy and not looking like he missed his mom… but still happy to see me again. After feeding him a banana, I noticed that he finally had his first tooth! After saying goodbye to his grandparents we drove home.
Tuesday evening we cleaned up the house, because the next morning some potential buyers came to see the apartment.

Wednesday morning I brought Florian to ours neighbors so I could finish the cleaning up. Florian was very happy to see our neighbor. He really likes her. They played for an hour and then I joined them for a coffee. During the coffee the potential buyers and the real estate agent came to see the apartment. It was not what they were looking for…

Thursday was my birthday and Erik organized a nice breakfast for the three of us. Then he went to work and I packed again, because Friday we would leave for a weekend with Erik’s family in Drenthe to celebrate that Erik’s parents were married for 45 years and the birthday of Erik’s father. Thursday evening I meet some friends of mine at the beach, where we had dinner and chatted for a while.

Friday we drove to the Hof van Saksen holiday park in the north of the Netherlands, where we would stay till Monday. Each family had his own holiday home. We had lunch together and then unpacked our luggage. In the early evening we had dinner with 6 adults and two children (Florian and his nephew of 2 years old) in the pizzeria in the bungalow park. Afterwards we had another drink at one of the holiday homes.

Saturday morning we had breakfast with the whole family. After breakfast we went to a children’s playground with all kinds of activities. Erik’s nephew sung and danced with other children. Florian watched them. Then we all went to a ball pit, where we played with a lot of balls. Florian liked it a lot! In the afternoon the boys slept for a while and some of the adults too. In the evening we had dinner together in one of the restaurants to celebrate Erik’s parents 45 years marriage. The cook made a nice special meal for Florian with potatoes and vegetables. Afterwards we enjoyed the weather and had another drink outside one of the holiday homes.

Sunday we again had breakfast with the whole family. This time we celebrated Erik’s’ fathers birthday! In the afternoon Erik and I went swimming in the swimming pool with Florian. They had three different pool where we could go with Florian and Florian enjoyed himself a lot splashing in the water. In the evening we had dinner together in the same restaurant as yesterday.

Monday we had breakfast together and after packing our luggage we said goodbye. Erik, Florian and I then drove to Bataviastad, to do some outlet shopping and the drove home. Driving home we noticed that Florian had his second tooth.

Tuesday I did the groceries and in the afternoon visited one of the mommies. All children are now growing and developing very quick (rolling over, sitting, crawling, eating, babbling)! I also weighted Florian and he was now 9.300 gr, which is all right.

Thursday morning I brought my borrowed buggy (because mine was in repair) back to my friend. We chatted a bit and Florian could play with his two girlfriends! In the evening we had dinner with the moms in the city of The Hague. This time we ate at an Indian restaurant. During dessert it was pouring with rain outside! Luckily we are modern and had an app to see when it would be dry enough to cycle home. It worked!

Friday friends from Germany, who now live in the UK, came to visit us. We had not seen them in two years and it was very nice to see them now: to see how they developed themselves in their expat lives. Their son is already 2,5 years now. The funny thing is that it was just like before in Germany. It does not make a difference if you see people a lot, if there is a click it will survive over time. We chatted at home till Erik came from work and then walked to the beach and had dinner there. Then it was time for them to drive back to their holiday home in Zeeland.

Saturday I went cycling with my best friend in the Netherlands. She has a really good condition, cause she cycles a lot with her carrier cycle with her two daughters in it. I still have a poor condition so it was quite fair that I had a bike with seven gears and she had one with none. We cycled through the dunes and she still beat me, but it was really fun. We enjoyed the wind, the freedom and chatted a lot!

Sunday we planned to go boating with my brother and his family. Only it rained a lot that day. So we decided to cancel and just go by them at their home.

Monday I visited my mom and her husband. She will be on holiday for a couple of weeks, so it was nice to see her before she goes. On my way back I went to pick up my buggy. I was so glad to have it back, I really missed it a lot!

Tuesday I meet with one of the moms again. The other one is now on a holiday. It was fun to see her daughter again. Florian and her daughter are growing and developing so quick at the moment! They got both some fruit and Florian could not stop eating them! Florian was also crawling (backwards) for the very first time!

Wednesday my aunt came to visit me, because she was having a vacation in The Hague. It was fun. We chatted a lot and had lunch. Then Florian had to go to bed and I needed some rest too. In the afternoon English friends, from Germany, came to visit us. So nice to see them again! We went to the beach, enjoyed the weather and walked on the beach. Then we had coffee and dinner. Erik joined us after his work.

Friday Erik meet his friends in Amsterdam for a two monthly “Jaareten”.
Saturday I baked three pies for my birthday on Sunday. Luckily it all went well!

Sunday I celebrated my birthday for my family. Almost my whole family came and it was the first time in 7 years that I celebrated my birthday for my family!

Wednesday I visited my father and his wife. We sat in the garden and chatted a bit. After dinner I also visited shortly my brother. Then it was time for bed for Florian!

Cheers,
Marja, Erik and Florian

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 615
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96445

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: