April 2014: Drinking out of a bottle - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu April 2014: Drinking out of a bottle - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Marja - WaarBenJij.nu

April 2014: Drinking out of a bottle

Door: Marja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marja

05 Mei 2014 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Sunday we went to the birthday of my youngest nephew. We were one of the first to arrive to our surprise. My nephew really enjoyed his birthday cake. At the end of the afternoon I drove Florian and Erik back home and I went to the birthday of my brother who became 40! Erik stayed at home with Florian, because we thought that it would be a bit too much for Florian.

Tuesday I met the mommies again. This time another German mommy joint our club. In the afternoon we went for a walk, because it was such nice weather. Only later on the threatening dark clouds came. We were exactly in time home before it started raining.

Wednesday my mother came to babysit Florian so I could do some things for myself. The only problem was that Florian did not want to drink out of a bottle anymore…Before this was never a problem, so we did not really train him on it... So I could not go far, but it was nice to do some phone calls and go for inline skating on the beach.

Sunday my father and his wife visited us. We went for a walk through the dunes in our neighborhood and had lunch in a beach restaurant. Then we walked back in the sunny afternoon.

Tuesday Erik went to Munich for business. A friend of us in Germany picked him up from the airport and they went for dinner together. I met the mommies again. This time I put Florian in a small swinging chair and he started to make car sounds (broom, broooooom, broom!) and put his hand like around a steering wheel! This was really funny. Erik always “drives a car or motor” with him and he now imitated it!

Wednesday my mother came again to babysit. I had to go to the dentist. Florian again refused the bottle, so he was a bit hungry when I came home. So I have to look for a solution, because this does not work. In the afternoon we went to the beach: my mother with Florian in the buggy and I went inline skating and met them for an ice cream later on. Wednesday evening Erik visited other friends of us in Neubiberg and went for dinner with them in the Biergarten in Aying. Erik got from them Florian’s first cute traditional Bavarian clothes (blouse and vest) and some other cute clothes! So sweet! He can probably wear them this summer when we visit Munich.

Thursday Florian and I walked to the local market, got our groceries and walked back. The weather was very nice.

Friday Erik’s parents came to visit us and stayed for dinner.

Saturday morning I went swimming in the swimming pool in our neighborhood. In the afternoon friends of Erik and their two sons came to see Florian. It was a long time ago that we met them, so it was really nice to see them again. In the afternoon friends of us from Munich came to visit us and stayed for dinner. We grilled indoor and chatted a lot. It was like the old times in Munich.

Sunday we went for a walk at the beach and sat at one of the restaurants at the north beach. It was the first time we were at this restaurant. For the afternoon we agreed seeing a Munich colleague. We decided to meet her on the beach. She had been on a biking tour in the neighborhood with her friends where she stayed at. Accidentally it was at the same restaurant as in the morning, so the waiters were a bit surprised to see us again! It was very nice to meet her and her son and we chatted a lot!

Monday we had an eastern brunch at my sister in law in Amsterdam. Erik’s parents were there too. She set the table very nice with all kinds of food and drinks: a delight surprise! Erik’s nephew (almost two years old) made sure that everyone ate his or her egg, which was very funny. We chatted a lot and enjoyed the brunch. Florian cuddled with his grandma. During part of the brunch he slept so we had time to eat too!

Wednesday Erik got his new company car: a very beautiful BMW 4 series cabriolet with 245 hp. It is one of the first BMW 4 series cabriolets on the road in the Netherlands. So now he can even enjoy the summer in his ride to the office and back!

Thursday evening I had dinner with all mothers of my pregnancy course in tapas restaurant “El Barrio”. The food was good and we all enjoyed our glass of wine. We had a lot to talk about and a lot of fun!

Friday evening Erik went with his colleagues to a Moroccan wedding of one of his colleagues in Nieuwerkerk aan de Ijssel. The bride was looking gorgeous!

Saturday was for the first time Kings day. We did not do a thing about it…In the morning we walked with the three of us through the dunes to the beach. It was windy but sunny. At a beach restaurant we had lunch and then we walked back home.

Sunday my mother and stepfather celebrated their birthday. The whole family was there: my two sisters and my brother with their families and my stepbrother. So we were with 20 people and like always it was a chaos, but nice! We all stayed for dinner and the we all went home to put the children to bed.

Monday I woke up not feeling very well. Later on it got worse and I got fever. So I asked my mom and stepfather to come by and help me a hand with Florian. Luckily they had time!

Tuesday I hoped it would get better, but it did not really so I went to the doctor. When I was waiting for the doctor with Florian, Florian showed me something new: he threw a toy on the floor and I picked it up. Then he threw it again, again and again! It was funny to watch him learning! The doctor said I had a breast inflammation and got some medication to get the fever down. So I stayed at home till Thursday and took care for Florian. I also started to learn Florian again to drink out of a new bottle and hoped it would help. After some persistence (1,5 days) and empty breasts (because of the breast inflammation) he finally was again able to drink out of it!

Friday morning I went to my sister with Florian. My brother in law had a day of and went with their oldest son to Amsterdam. So my sister and I went with the youngest two and Florian to the local market and got there some groceries and fish for lunch. After lunch I drove home again and packed, because at the end of the afternoon we went to Erik’s parents for the weekend. We had dinner with Erik’s mother and later on Erik’s father came home too.

Saturday after breakfast Erik and I went shopping in Castricum and Erik’s parents were babysitting Florian. Finally I could buy some new shoes! This was the first time after me moving to the Netherlands. In the afternoon Erik and his father went for a walk with Florian. Later on we enjoyed the sun in the garden. Florian loved to sit with his grandpa and take a nap! Grandpa fed him afterwards to with a bottle, which Florian could now drink from again. After putting Florian to bed, Erik and I went out for dinner. It was a really nice restaurant and the food was good. This was the first time after Florian was born and we really had fun together and enjoyed it!

Sunday morning Erik went together with Florian bathing. Florian’s grandmother (un)dressed him. After lunch we drove to Erik’s brother, because Erik’s nephew celebrated his second birthday. A lot of friends with their children were there. Erik’s nephew blew out the candles of the beautiful cake and a lot of photo’s where made of this special moment. The party was held inside in the house and outside in the garden with nice sunny weather. It was all a bit too loud for Florian. So Erik and I rotated taking care of Florian in a room which was more quiet. At the end of the afternoon we drove home. Florian was very tired in the car, but Erik made him roar with laughter like never before! It was so cute!

Cheers,
Marja, Erik & Florian

  • 05 Mei 2014 - 11:43

    Henny Oosterloo:

    Hallo Marja en Erik,
    Prachtige foto's van jullie zoon en wat wordt hij al groot.
    Wij, Boukje, Petra,Inneri en ik komen heus nog eens kijken, nog even geduld
    Ik ben gevallen en loop nu met twee krukken, 12mei ga ik naar de Orthopeed,
    Er is al een CT scan gemaakt. Verder alles goed, groetjes en liefs Jaap en Henny.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marja

After 6 years living and working in Bavaria Erik and Marja are now back in the Netherlands. To keep in touch with all our international friends and colleagues, we have a monthly blog in English about our new life in the Netherlands.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 401
Totaal aantal bezoekers 96456

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2013 - 30 September 2018

Back in the Netherlands

Landen bezocht: